I own two computers, a PC and a Mac. My laptop is a 1.2 year old Macbook Pro. I love it. I create music, write ad copy, this blog, comic book ideas, sort and edit my photos on it. My desktop is an Alienware Area51 from 2007 that was top of the line at the time (I’ve since upgraded the SLI video cards to a single ATI 5870 HD). On it I play games and read comic books.I like simplicity in my life and to have one computer that is essentially a glorified game console does not appeal to me. Yet the siren’s call of games like Crysis, Mass Effect and S.T.A.L.K.E.R. have kept me a slave to the high-end power that a Windows based CPU tower can provide. This announcement is a panacea for many of those who have computing interests that make buying a Mac a smart investment yet still want to frag some camper bitches with rockets.

Gaming has never really mattered to Apple. Halo was once slated to be an Apple game, but ended up being a prime piece of Microsoft’s profit plan. In the decade since, several iterations of high-powered Macintosh computers have been sold and none were aimed at gaming, instead marketed towards simple computer users, artists, designers and students.

So when I see this article on Kotaku I wonder, “What happened?”

The iPhone happened. A significant amount of money being spent in the App Store is on games. Most of the apps downloaded from Apple are either listed under the categories games or entertainment.

There’s anecdotal proof from the head guy at Valve that Apple never really used to care:

“Well, we tried to have a conversation with Apple for several years, and they never seemed to… well, we have this pattern with Apple, where we meet with them, people there go “wow, gaming is incredibly important, we should do something with gaming”. And then we’ll say, “OK, here are three things you could do to make that better,” and then they say “OK,” and then we never see them again. And then a year later, a new group of people show up, who apparently have no idea that the last group of people were there, and never follow though on anything. So, they seem to think that they want to do gaming, but there’s never any follow through on any of the things they say they’re going to do. That makes it hard to be excited about doing games for their platforms.”

It’s good to see that the smell of money has gotten Apple’s musty privates oily and slick with primal juices when it comes to games. Maybe this means in a year or two I won’t have to wonder if buying Boot Camp is a good idea or not.

